Update browser for a secure Minnesota Orchestra experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Minnesota Orchestra experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Kazuki Yamada, conductor
Kazuki Yamada, conductor | © Zuzanna Specjal

Dvořák’s New World Symphony

Thu Feb 16 — Fri Feb 17, 2023

Orchestra Hall

~2 hrs, including intermission

Don’t miss two debuts and music new to Orchestra Hall in this soul-stirring mid-February concert. French pianist Alexandre Kantorow, 2019 winner of the International Tchaikovsky Competition, makes his first appearance on the Orchestra Hall stage, performing Tchaikovsky’s Second Piano Concerto. Japanese conductor Kazuki Yamada makes his debut leading the Orchestra in Tōru Takemitsu’s breathtaking piece, How Slow the Wind, also receiving its first performance here, before taking the Orchestra and audience on an all-time favorite of classical music, through Dvořák’s New World Symphony.

The Friday night performance will be broadcast live on YourClassical Minnesota Public Radio. Find your station or listen online.

A Few Things to Know

  1. “[Kantorow] is the real deal, a fire-breathing virtuoso with a poetic charm and innate stylistic mastery,” says Gramophone.
  2. At just 25 years old, Alexandre Kantorow is quickly becoming one of the most accomplished young pianists of our time, recently winning the Grand Prix at the 2019 International Tchaikovsky Competition.

Explore the concert extras

Date & Time





    How slow the Wind

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    The sound world of How slow the Wind incorporates both Eastern and Western musical traditions, and like several of Takemitsu’s compositions, it is rooted in a three-note motive associated with the sea. In some passages, the orchestra’s instruments use non-traditional techniques to evoke the sounds of Japanese instruments such as the shakuhachi and koto.


    Piano Concerto No. 2

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    A thundering march launches this concerto, which initially segregates soloist and orchestra. The middle movement offers a surprise—the hint of a triple concerto with violin and cello—while the finale has the spirit of a high-stepping country dance.


    Symphony No. 9, From the New World

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    Dvořák’s beloved Ninth, composed during a three-year visit to America, is a melting pot of African American, Indigenous American and European musical languages. Among its many unforgettable passages: a gorgeous English horn melody in the Largo inspired by African American spirituals and a dramatic finale that overflows with inspired tunes.


Minnesota Orchestra

Plan your visit

  • Pre-concert activities
  • Valet Parking
  • Pre-order Beverages
  • Directions & Parking
  • Helpful Tips

Listen Ahead

Accessibility Services

  • Armless & Bariatric Chairs
  • Assistive Listening Devices
  • Large-Print Programs
  • Noise-Cancelling Headphones
  • Service Animals
  • Wheelchair & Accessible Seating

Additional services are available upon request.

Sponsored by