Update browser for a secure Minnesota Orchestra experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Minnesota Orchestra experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Karina Canellakis
Karina Canellakis | © Mathias Bothor
Summer Finale

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

Fri Aug 27 — Sat Aug 28, 2021

Orchestra Hall

The Minnesota Orchestra’s summer season concludes with a thrilling grand finale conducted by Karina Canellakis. Pianist Jon Kimura Parker caps his first season onstage as the Orchesta’s creative partner for summer programming with two movements from the stunningly beautiful and exceptionally challenging Piano Concerto No. 21 by Wolfgang Amadè Mozart. The Orchestra will fill the stage again in a way that has not been possible for many months, allowing audience and musicians a chance to revel and reconnect through Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s emotional Fourth Symphony, the final movement of which the composer himself suggested was a reminder to “rejoice in the happiness of others.” Opening the program is the noble, blues-infused final movement from American composer William Grant Still’s First Symphony.

Masks are required for this performance in compliance with our safety protocols

Date & Time





    Lento, con risoluzione, from Symphony No. 1, Afro-American

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    Still’s Afro-American Symphony blends two musical cultures into one, combining elements of jazz and African American spirituals with European classical forms. The fourth movement of his symphony—which opens tonight’s program—originally carried the title Aspiration, and the music is appropriately filled with hope and optimism.


    Andante and Allegro vivace, from Piano Concerto No. 21

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21 captivates audiences with an unlikely balance of constant momentum and entrancing beauty. An inventive piano solo, colored by brass fanfares and woodwind melodies, makes this a star among Mozart’s many concertos.

    Symphony No. 4

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony, like Beethoven’s Fifth, presents a Fate motif at the outset. This is an adventurous work carrying us through lyrical episodes as well as high drama on the way to an exuberant conclusion.


Minnesota Orchestra

Jon Kimura Parker


Homewood Studios

National Anthem Responses Display

When: Fri Sep 24 | Pre-concert and Intermission
Where: Balcony A

These concerts include both The Star Spangled Banner and Jessie Montgomery's Banner, which explores the idea of the anthem for the 21st century. Artists from Homewood Studios share visual responses to the topic alongside written remarks about the national anthem's history by scholar Melinda Russell. 

Accessibility Services

  • Assistive Listening Devices
  • Large Print Programs
  • Service Animals
  • Wheelchair & Accessible Seating

Additional services are available upon request.

Sponsored By

Best Buy
TCF Bank