Update browser for a secure Minnesota Orchestra experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Minnesota Orchestra experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Xian Zhang, conductor | © Benjamin Ealovega

Tchaikovsky, Chen and Nielsen

Fri May 13 — Sat May 14, 2022

Orchestra Hall

~1.5 hrs including a 20 min intermission

Xian Zhang makes a long-awaited return to Orchestra Hall to conduct music of beauty and nostalgia. The concerts open with Qigang Chen’s L’eloignement for String Orchestra, a poignant work inspired by a Chinese proverb and the vital force of renewal and rebirth. Principal Flute Adam Kuenzel takes the solo spotlight in Carl Nielsen’s warm-hearted Flute Concerto. Returning to the theme of renewal, Aurora awakes from her slumber in Tchaikovsky’s Suite from The Sleeping Beauty.  

A Few Things to Know

  • An active triathlete, Principal Flute Adam Kuenzel was the winner of his age group in the 2019 Minneapolis Lifetime Fitness Triathlon.
  • Qigang Chen was the music director of the Opening Ceremony of the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, which was watched by more than a billion people around the world.


  • CHEN



    Flute Concerto


    Suite from The Sleeping Beauty


    Francesca da Rimini


Minnesota Orchestra

Xian Zhang


Adam Kuenzel


Accessibility Services

  • Assistive Listening Devices
  • Large Print Programs
  • Service Animals
  • Wheelchair & Accessible Seating

Additional services are available upon request.

Sponsored By