Update browser for a secure Minnesota Orchestra experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Minnesota Orchestra experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Kevin John Edusei, conductor | © Marco Borggreve

Shostakovich, Moussa and Ravel

Thu Apr 7 — Fri Apr 8, 2022

Orchestra Hall

~2 hrs including a 20 min intermission

Shostakovich’s First Violin Concerto is an intensely challenging, virtuosic and emotionally charged piece, performed by violinist Ning Feng in his Minnesota Orchestra debut. Also making his first appearance here is conductor Kevin John Edusei, who leads the Orchestra in a series of atmospheric orchestral works by Samy Moussa and Maurice Ravel. From the mysterious night sky in Nocturne to the joyful dances of Daphnis and Chloe to the iconic snare drum rhythm of Boléro, this concert will send your imagination soaring.

A Few Things to Know

  • Ravel’s Daphnis and Chloe and Boléro were both originally written as music for ballet, but have instead become orchestral favorites that stand on their own.
  • Kevin John Edusei has won numerous awards and competitions for his conducting, including the 2008 International Dimitri Mitropoulos Competition, which is named after the Minnesota Orchestra’s fourth music director.



    Violin Concerto No. 1




    Suite No. 2 from Daphnis and Chloe




Minnesota Orchestra

Kevin John Edusei


Ning Feng


Accessibility Services

  • Assistive Listening Devices
  • Large Print Programs
  • Service Animals
  • Wheelchair & Accessible Seating

Additional services are available upon request.

Sponsored By