Update browser for a secure Minnesota Orchestra experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Minnesota Orchestra experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

© Joseph Scheller

Mendelssohn and Coleridge-Taylor

in the Target Atrium

Sun Mar 26, 2023

Orchestra Hall

A one-of-a-kind sonata for double bass and piano by Paul Hindemith sets the stage for a late-March chamber concert in the Target Atrium. Samuel Coleridge-Taylor's set of character pieces for string quartet will then contrast with Cuban composer Javier Iha Rodríguez's Pilgrim Tales. Capping the evening is Mendelssohn’s Octet for Strings, an imaginative work that showcases an ideal balance of intimacy and independence within a chamber ensemble.

A Few Things to Know

  1. Throughout his career, Hindemith composed a sonata for nearly every instrument in the orchestra. The double bass sonata was one of the final additions to his collection, completed while he was on vacation in New Mexico. It was followed only by one other – his Sonata for Tuba and Piano.
  2. German poet Johann Wolfgang von Goethe and the young Mendelssohn were good friends, and it is from a verse of Goethe’s lyric poem Faust that Mendelssohn drew inspiration for the Scherzo of his Octet for Strings.
  3. Cuban musician Javier Iha Rodríguez shared his work, Pilgrim Tales, with several Minnesota Orchestra musicians during a recent trip to Cuba.

Date & Time





    Sonata for Bass and Piano

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    • Kathryn Nettleman, bass
    • Susan Billmeyer, piano

    Five Fantasy Pieces for String Quartet

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    • Rui Du, violin
    • Cecilia Belcher, violin
    • Kenneth Freed, viola
    • Pitnarry Shin, cello
  • IHA

    Pilgrim Tales for Clarinet, Violin and Piano

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    • Sarah Grimes, violin
    • Timothy Zavadil, clarinet
    • Mary Jo Gothmann, piano

    Octet for Strings

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    • Rui Du, violin
    • Cecilia Belcher, violin
    • Céline Leathead, violin
    • Rebecca Corruccini, violin
    • Kenneth Freed, viola
    • Megan Tam, viola
    • Silver Ainomäe, cello
    • Sonia Mantell, cello

Listen Ahead

Accessibility Services

  • Assistive Listening Devices
  • Service Animals
  • Wheelchair & Accessible Seating

Additional services are available upon request.

The Chamber Music Series is sponsored by Dr. Jennine and John Speier.

Sponsored by