Update browser for a secure Minnesota Orchestra experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Minnesota Orchestra experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Kazuki Yamada, conductor
Kazuki Yamada, conductor | © Zuzanna Specjal

Dvořák’s New World Symphony

Thu Feb 16 — Fri Feb 17, 2023

Orchestra Hall

Don’t miss two debuts and music new to Orchestra Hall in this soul-stirring mid-February concert. French pianist Alexandre Kantorow, 2019 winner of the International Tchaikovsky Competition, makes his first appearance on the Orchestra Hall stage, performing Tchaikovsky’s Second Piano Concerto. Japanese conductor Kazuki Yamada makes his debut leading the Orchestra in Tōru Takemitsu’s breathtaking piece, How Slow the Wind, also receiving its first performance here, before taking the Orchestra and audience on an all-time favorite of classical music, through Dvořák’s New World Symphony.


  1. “[Kantorow] is the real deal, a fire-breathing virtuoso with a poetic charm and innate stylistic mastery,” says Gramophone.
  2. At just 25 years old, Alexandre Kantorow is quickly becoming one of the most accomplished young pianists of our time, recently winning the Grand Prix at the 2019 International Tchaikovsky Competition.

Date & Time





    How Slow the Wind


    Piano Concerto No. 2


    Symphony No. 9, From the New World


Minnesota Orchestra

Kazuki Yamada


Alexandre Kantorow


Accessibility Services

  • Armless & Bariatric Chairs
  • Assistive Listening Devices
  • Large-Print Programs
  • Noise-Cancelling Headphones
  • Service Animals
  • Wheelchair & Accessible Seating

Additional services are available upon request.

Sponsored by