Update browser for a secure Minnesota Orchestra experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Minnesota Orchestra experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Nathalie Stutzman, conductor
Nathalie Stutzmann, conductor | © Simon Fowler

Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique Symphony

Thu Mar 3 — Sat Mar 5, 2022

Orchestra Hall

~1.5 hrs including a 20 min intermission

The Minnesota Orchestra welcomes Nathalie Stutzmann back to the podium for a program that is rich with heart and soul. First, George Walker’s Lyric for Strings, composed in memory of Walker’s grandmother, will take your breath away. Then, violinist Tobias Feldmann joins the Orchestra for the first time to play Prokofiev’s imaginative and exciting Second Violin Concerto. Stutzmann, who is known for infusing lyricism into each performance, leads the Orchestra in Tchaikovsky’s tender and beautiful Sixth Symphony, the Pathétique.

A Few Things to Know

  • Nathalie Stutzmann was recently announced as the next music director of the Atlanta Symphony, beginning her appointment there in the fall of 2022.
  • In 1996, George Walker was the first African American to win the Pulitzer Prize in music for his work titled Lilacs, a vocal-orchestral setting of Walt Whitman’s poetry.

Date & Time





    Lyric for Strings

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    Written in memory of the composer’s grandmother, George Walker’s Lyric for Strings is music of great emotion, with melodies proceeding in mostly stepwise manner, harmonies jumping from major to modal, and sparing use of plucked strings.


    Violin Concerto No. 2

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    This lyrical concerto veers between extremes, now gentle, now full of energy. Sergei Prokofiev’s imagination—and his penchant for saucy touches—are often evident, as in his use of castanets near the work’s exciting close.


    Symphony No. 6, Pathétique

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    Darkly, tenderly, beautifully, Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Sixth and final symphony communicates a mood of deep suffering. Brilliant touches include a waltz in 5/4 time, a dramatic scherzo and a lamenting melody that sinks away to silence.


Minnesota Orchestra

Your Concert Experience

Join us for Q&A’s, hosted discussions, exhibits and more. All free with your concert ticket!

Pre-Concert Performance

by YPSCA Concerto Competition Finalists

When: Sat Mar 5 | 7:05pm-7:25pm
Where: Auditorium

Young People's Symphony Concert Association (YPSCA) Concerto Competition finalists Grace Weitzel (violin), and Orion Kim (piano), will give a pre-concert performance on stage.  

Pre- and Post-Concert Activities Sponsored By


When Nathalie Stutzmann comes to town, standing ovations seem to follow.”

Star Tribune

Video: George Walker - Molto Adagio, From String Quartet No. 1

Accessibility Services

  • Assistive Listening Devices
  • Large Print Programs
  • Service Animals
  • Wheelchair & Accessible Seating

Additional services are available upon request.

Sponsored By