Update browser for a secure Minnesota Orchestra experience

It looks like you may be using a web browser version that we don't support. Make sure you're using the most recent version of your browser, or try using of these supported browsers, to get the full Minnesota Orchestra experience: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge.

Edo de Waart, conductor | © Jesse Willems

Edo de Waart’s 80th Birthday Celebration

Thu Oct 14 — Fri Oct 15, 2021

Orchestra Hall

~2 hours including a 20 min intermission

We are celebrating conductor Edo de Waart’s 80th birthday in a big way! The former Minnesota Orchestra music director returns to the Orchestra Hall stage to conduct music by John Adams, Joseph Haydn and Antonín Dvořák. Principal Cello Anthony Ross is the featured soloist in Haydn’s leisurely Cello Concerto in D major, and Dvořák’s Eighth Symphony is exuberant and euphoric. It’s the perfect musical conclusion to a grand party.

A Few Things to Know

  1. Edo de Waart was the music director who hired cellist Anthony Ross when he first joined the Orchestra in 1988 and when he was selected for the principal cello position in 1991. 
  2. Ross selected two cadenzas written by American composer Jessie Montgomery for use in Haydn’s Cello Concerto in D major, along with one he composed himself revising material from an earlier version by cellist Leonard Rose. 
  3. John Adams’ Tromba Lontana (Fanfare for Houston)—meaning “a distant trumpet”—is subdued and contemplative, exactly the opposite of what you might expect from a fanfare.



    Tromba Lontana

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    John Adams grounds this fanfare in slowly-changing harmony and insistently pulsating rhythms, creating an ethereal, contemplative fanfare, not a blazing one.


    Cello Concerto in D major

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    Composed intentionally to showcase the tone and technique of its soloist, Joseph Haydn’s Cello Concerto in D major is classic in style and leisurely to listen to, even while the cello part is exceedingly difficult and truly virtuosic.


    Symphony No. 8

    1 min note

    One Minute Note

    Antonín Dvořák’s Eighth Symphony is full of luminous melodies and unexpected harmonic shifts. The second movement alludes to the funeral march of Beethoven’s Eroica Symphony, but lighter elements prevail in a whirlwind finale that is delightfully Czech.


Minnesota Orchestra

Edo de Waart


Anthony Ross


Listen Ahead

Accessibility Services

  • Assistive Listening Devices
  • Large Print Programs
  • Service Animals
  • Wheelchair & Accessible Seating

Additional services are available upon request.

Sponsored By