Your presale validation code has been accepted.
Click the
button to order your tickets.

Osmo Vänskä /// Music Director

Special Offers: $20under40

The Minnesota Orchestra is pleased to offer $20 tickets for guests under the age of 40! This special offer is available for select concerts throughout the season, and more concerts are added monthly. See below for a list of eligible events.


Join the #MNOrchMonday email list to receive the following:

  • Notification when additional concerts become eligible for the $20under40 discount
  • Invitations to Pint of Music, FREE chamber music events at your favorite local breweries
  • Other exclusive ticket offers and special events at Orchestra Hall

$20under40: #MNOrchMonday list

Your Full Name(*)
Please let us know your name.

Your Email(*)
Please let us know your email address.

How to get your tickets online:

Simply choose a concert listed below and select “$20under40” for the ticket type when choosing your seats (top-priced seating sections not eligible). Tickets will be held at the Box Office and require one valid ID showing proof of age (must be 40 years or younger) per two tickets purchased. Order online or by phone for Will Call pickup only. Limit one pair of $20 tickets per eligible performance.

Eligible Concerts

About This Concert:

Wagner’s beautiful chamber work Siegfried Idyll, Liszt’s glittering Piano Concerto No. 1 and the soaring Symphony No. 2 by Schumann.

Siegfried Idyll

Piano Concerto No. 1

Symphony No. 2

Fun Facts:

  • Richard Wagner surprised his wife at Christmas long ago with Siegfried Idyll, and her standards were awfully high, as she was also the daughter of Franz Liszt.
  • Of course the piano is the most important instrument in Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 1, but the tiny solo triangle comes in a surprisingly close second.
  • Canada’s Louis Lortie knows his Liszt, and his recent Liszt recording won a “Ten Best” citation from The New Yorker.
  • Schumann’s Symphony No. 2 was a triumph against all odds, written while the composer weathered debilitating mental-health challenges and a constant ringing in his ears.


Complete event details »

About This Concert:

Casual Concert = FUN, COMFORTABLE and a little DIFFERENT than what you might expect.


  • $5 Happy Hour
  • Local craft brews
  • Meet the musicians onstage

There are revolutionaries in music—and then there’s Cameron Carpenter, who tours globally with an astonishing electric organ of his own design and amazes audiences with his jaw-dropping virtuosity.

Prelude to Khovanshchina

Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini for organ and orchestra

Symphony No. 5

Fun Facts:

  • This program offers the best of Russia’s musical riches, from lush Romantic melodies and rich harmonies to triumphant cries of survival in the face of oppression.
  • Rachmaninoff’s Paganini Rhapsody is one of the most recognizable pieces of Romantic keyboard music, newly adapted for organ from its piano original by Carpenter.
  • Carpenter’s signature International Touring Organ uses sophisticated technology to reproduce the sounds of many different American pipe organs at the touch of a button.
  • Carpenter’s recent Washington concert drew praise from the Post for his “blazing technique, wit and enthusiasm for the organ [that is] nothing short of contagious.”
  • Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5 dates from the height of the Soviet Union’s Stalinist terror. Writing in fear for his life, Shostakovich created his most powerful music, and the ovation at the premiere lasted half an hour.
  • Casual Concerts include: $5 pre-concert happy hour, local craft brew, and an opportunity to meet musicians onstage after the performance.

Complete event details »

About This Concert:

A brilliant, sunny quartet and a Czech-inspired quintet, featuring Concertmaster Erin Keefe and her colleagues from each of our string sections.

Please note: this chamber music performance will be held in the Orchestra Hall auditorium.

String Quartet No. 4

String Quintet in G major

Fun Facts:

  • Adding the double bass to the standard string quartet gave Dvořák a chamber ensemble that used each of the string instruments of a symphony orchestra.
  • Dvořák’s Quintet was originally 5 movements; one of these movements is now known on its own as his Nocturne for Strings (Opus 40).
  • The String Quartet No. 4 was composed while Mendelssohn was on his honeymoon in the Black Forest.
  • Mendelssohn’s Quartet has several moments that foreshadow his famous E-minor Violin Concerto—a piece that Concertmaster Erin Keefe performed with the Orchestra in 2014.
  • Casual Concerts include: $5 pre-concert happy hour, local craft brew, and an opportunity to meet musicians onstage after the performance.

Photos © Joel Larson and Josh Kohanek Photography

Complete event details »

About this Concert:

Join us for the happiest hour in town as our trailblazing Associate Conductor Roderick Cox continues Sommerfest’s theme of ubuntu and unity through music with exquisite selections by Beethoven, Salonen and Pärt.

  • Minnesota Orchestra
  • Roderick Cox, conductor
  • Stewart Goodyear, piano



Piano Concerto No. 4

Fun Facts:

  • Helix was commissioned by the BBC and premiered by Valery Gergiev and the World Orchestra for Peace on a Proms concert in August 2005.
  • Mandela and his friend, Welsh pianist Harold Rubens, led meetings in the 1950s at which they planned apartheid resistance while Rubens played Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 very loudly to thwart government bugs.
  • Arvo Pärt is from Estonia, which is also celebrating its centenary in 2018. His composition Fratres literally means brotherhood, and demonstrates his minimalist tintinnabuli style of composition.
  • Called "a phenomenon" by the Los Angeles Times and "one of the best pianists of his generation" by The Philadelphia Inquirer, Stewart Goodyear has collaborated previously with Roderick Cox, who in turn introduced Goodyear to the Minnesota Orchestra.
  • These Symphony in 60 concerts are part of the Minnesota Orchestra's Casual Concerts series, which includes a $5 pre-concert happy hour, local craft brews and an opportunity to meet musicians after the performance.

Complete event details »

About this Concert:

From the 1960s through today, protest music has played an important role in American culture. Violist and host Sam Bergman and conductor Sarah Hicks highlight the stories, music, and achievements of composers who used their talents to participate in social protest through the centuries.

Post-concert on stage reception.

Lacrymosa, mvt. I from Sinfonia da Requiem

Apologue: Of Rage and Remembrance, mvt. I from Symphony No. 1

Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman, No. 1

Threnody to the Victims of Hiroshima

In Memoriam of the Colored Soldiers Who Died For Democracy

Overture to The Boatswain’s Mate

Overture to Fidelio

Allegro molto, mvt. II from Chamber Symphony

The Prisoner

Fun Facts

  • Inside the Classics, now in its ninth season, features Minnesota Orchestra violist and host Sam Bergman and conductor Sarah Hicks. The duo explore classical music through conversation and orchestral excerpts. This Inside the Classics concert is part of the Minnesota Orchestra's Casual Concerts series.
  • Casual Concerts include: $5 pre-concert happy hour, local craft brew, and an opportunity to meet musicians onstage after the performance.

Complete event details »

Note: All seating subject to availability and may vary by performance. Normal service charges apply. Available while supplies last and may not be combined with any other offer. Tickets are non-exchangeable and non-refundable.