Showcase March-April 2015 - page 24

Friday, March 13, 2015, 8 pm Orchestra Hall
Minnesota Orchestra
Sarah Hicks
, conductor
Sam Bergman
, host
Inside the Classics
Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Opus 68
Un poco sostenuto – Allegro
Andante sostenuto
Un poco allegretto e grazioso
Adagio – Più andante – Allegro non troppo, ma con brio
Tonight’s program offers an in-depth look at Johannes Brahms, focusing
on his First Symphony, a work sometimes dubbed “Beethoven’s Tenth”—
both for its perceived similarities to Beethoven’s nine symphonies and for
its success in carrying those symphonic ideals to new heights.
In the concert’s first half, you’ll learn why Brahms found Beethoven both
compelling and intimidating, and what has made the sound of both
composers’ symphonies favorites across the ages. You’ll hear excerpts
from Brahms’ First Symphony as well as his Piano Quartet, Serenade No. 1
and First Piano Concerto; from Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony; and from
works by Schumann and Wagner. After intermission, the Orchestra will
give a complete performance of Brahms’ First Symphony.
Inside the Classics: Beethoven’s Tenth
1...,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23 25,26,27,28,29,30,31,32,33,34,...64
Powered by FlippingBook